PDA

View Full Version : A zigzag rocker

David Dundas
09-14-2007, 1:53 AM
This is my first attempt at a zigzag rocker. Its miter joints are reinforced by twin 1/8"-thick maple keys set in slots cut using a shop-made tenoning jig (Photo 1). The keys are pinned by brass screws. I used an epoxy with a gel consistency to glue all the chair's joints. The chair's Z-assemblies are joined by two stretchers. The seat/back assembly is supported on the bevelled edge of the upper stretcher. The back stiles are glued, dowelled and screwed to the rear ends of the arms.

The wood used is Tasmanian blackwood, which has similar properties to American black walnut; the back-slats and 'heel' are maple. The rockers each have six 1/4" laminations, and the back-slats have two 5/32" laminations.

David Dundas

Craig Thompson
09-14-2007, 2:34 AM
cool as hades....

Don C Peterson
09-14-2007, 2:35 AM
That is a very cool chair. It looks like it's comfortable and looks great to boot.

Nice work.

Did you do any tests to try to figure out what the weight limit for a chair like that would be?

Kyle Stiefel
09-14-2007, 2:44 AM
Nice stuff!

David Dundas
09-14-2007, 3:12 AM
Did you do any tests to try to figure out what the weight limit for a chair like that would be?

Don,

Yes, I did; at a gtg of Australian Woodworking Forum members, a couple of years ago, we tested a joint made in this fashion; the miter joint was made in the Australian hardwood jarrah, with a cross section of 1 3/8" x 1 5/8". The joint was able to support the weigh of four men, weighing a total of 575 lbs, without damage. This chair has two similar joints with a larger cross-section, to support the weight of a single person, so I am confident that there is a wide safety margin.

David Dundas

Dan Clark
09-14-2007, 8:55 AM
David,