PDA

View Full Version : ROS needs replacing - What to buy??

Jim Mackell
09-12-2007, 1:43 PM
My 10 year old 5 inch ROS is grinding slowly to a halt. It's been a godsend and I'll give it a good resting place.

I'm an amateur but getting a little better and a little more aggressive in my projects each year. Working mostly with hardwoods now.

Any brand recommendations? 5 inch vs. 6 inch? Thanks in advance for your 3 cents (informed opinions are always worth more!)

Bruce Page
09-12-2007, 2:12 PM
I guess it is all relative to what you want to spend – some will tell you that you need a $300+ Festool. I have been very happy with my much less expensive PC ROS sanders. :rolleyes:

Bill Arnold
09-12-2007, 2:12 PM
Jim,

I've had a PC 333 for many years and it's been a good ROS. A couple of years ago, I added a Makita BO5010KX. While both are good machines, I favor the Makita because it seems to be a bit more comfortable in my hand and might be a tad more aggressive than the PC.

David Weaver
09-12-2007, 2:13 PM
I have the PC barrel sander (97366) - variable speed, 6" with a dust hood on it and a hookup for the shop vac. It works very well, but it's a lot more aggressive than a 5" model. I use it to get to 180 or 220 grit, and then use a non random orbital sander to get to 400 grit, so I can't comment on whether or not it does a good job for super finish. I do know that with a clear gloss finish, it leaves little orbital hooks in the wood's surface at the 180 grit level.

it doubles as a polisher if you get the kit to use it as such, and I think it's about $150 bucks (without the polishing kit) at coastal tool. Not cheap, but nice to have. Because of its power (and because of hand planes), I never have to use a belt sander, and the initial grits (whether they start at 100 or 150) are pretty good to go through.