PDA

View Full Version : My introduction

Michael Ballent
01-31-2004, 2:52 AM
I have been surfing around on this forum for some time after finding it through Jim Becker's WWW site. I have been woodworking now for about 3 years now and am still learning something new all the time. By day I am a computer geek, and unfortunately do not get as much time for WW as I would like :(. I live in the Valley of the Sun Stroke (Phoenix, AZ) and cannot wait for the WW show that is finally coming to town next weekend.

Below are some of the things that I have made. I created the new tabletop for my parent's dining room. It is made of 8/4 red oak with bread board ends (for the newbies that have question of what a bread board end is ;) ). It replaced the original table top that was too small for my mother's liking. It was a chore to match the stain of the original furniture. I also made the candlestick holders that are on the table, they are 4 1/4" diameter red oak finished with thinned poly, and the step stool is a revised version of the one that I made in shop class way back when (one semester vs 3 nights with all the power tools :D ) It is made of air dried walnut.

I look forward to future posts and helping out as many as I can. I have noticed that I still have a long way to go before I can catch up to the wonderful stuff you all have created.

Be Safe!
Michael
Glendale, AZ

Dick Parr
01-31-2004, 6:56 AM
Vern Nice Work Michael! Welcome to the SMC.

Glenn Clabo
01-31-2004, 7:05 AM
Welcome to the Creek Michael! Nice stuff...but you may want to take the plastic off the candles before you light em though. ;-)

Jim Becker
01-31-2004, 8:11 AM
Good to see you here, Michael! Your work is outstanding...I really like those spiral candle holders and the stool. Welcome!

Mark Singer
01-31-2004, 8:28 AM
Welcome Michael!
Great stuff...looking forwrd to your new posts!

Tyler Howell
01-31-2004, 8:44 AM
Welcome!

Jim brings a lot of good stuff to this sight, and looks like he has done it again.