PDA

View Full Version : DC/CFM #'s confusing me

Greg Scott
01-30-2004, 4:07 PM
I'm doing some research on a new dc, getting tired of connecting the Delta 1HP unit to one machine at a time. I don't have the ceiling height for a cyclone so I need to stick to a 2 stage.

Anyway I stumbled across this chart on Oneida's site showing a review done by American Woodworker. The first number after the inlet dia is CFM max and the second is CFM under load. It shows that the Penn State DC2-5 has more CFM under load than any other dc except the Oneida cyclone. They say the Penn State has 860 Max and 610 UL the next closest is the Jet DC-1200 with 1025 Max and 555 under load.

How can a 1-1/2 hp unit with an 11" impeller have more CFM under load that a 2HP unit with a 12" impeller???

Model | Price | Inlet | Max CFM | CFM Under Load

John Preston
01-30-2004, 11:09 PM
A couple of things:

First, I am no expert.

1. I just cut a hole in my ceiling for my cyclone motor to stick up through. Worked like a champ.

2. A guy named Jim Halbert swore up and down on his method of using a 1200 CFM DC to suck up the dust, then blew the exhaust into the cyclene. This reduces the height of the cyclone considerably. He actually used two 1200s in series with his because he just didn't like any dust in his shop. I was impressed by the cleanliness of his shop, he could have had carpet in there. White carpet.

3. It looks like Jet got those huge free air (no load) CFMs by using a bigger inlet diameter than their competitors. At that flow, the motor is probably real close to overloaded. That could give them the high no load number, or they could have an impeller design (vane shape and angle) that naturally gives more flow at low static pressures, and the one that has the high flow at high static pressure is optimized for higher flow at higher static pressure.

4. It was once posted by someone who claimed to know more than me that here's the way fans work:
Assume all fans are rotating the same speed