PDA

View Full Version : Random Glitches

Allan Wright
09-09-2007, 1:16 AM
Anyone have this happen to them? I didn't see this until it went out to a customer. This file has cut over 100 times and I've never seen one mis-cut. I checked the file and some stock I had on hand - all cut fine. Do lasers sometimes 'glitch'?

The circled area should look just like the cut-out below it.

Leigh Costello
09-09-2007, 2:04 AM
Allan,
I'm no expert, but are your bearing paths clean and free of crud? That is what I would check first. Beyond that, I have no idea. Good luck figuring this out.
Leigh

Scott Shepherd
09-09-2007, 9:14 AM
Have you cleaned your encoder strip lately? Just a thought, might not be the issue, but I know a dirty encoder can cause some odd issues.

Bill Cunningham
09-09-2007, 10:04 PM
There could have been a little spike in the line.. Every so often, I unplug everything, then plug it back in again. The T1 connectors in particular if you use them, sometimes a little corrosion shows up, and you get random bits, or flipped bits on the way to the laser..If you could hear it, it would be 'static'

Allan Wright
09-10-2007, 10:43 AM
Bearing tracks are clean, I clean them often.

I'm not sure I know how to clean my 'encoder strip' or T1 line, whatever that is.

I'll go re-check the manual's cleaning instructions. I THOUGHT I was doing everything, but these 2 terms are foreign to me so maybe I'm missing something.

Scott Shepherd
09-10-2007, 11:03 AM
Allen, I didn't have your model Epilog so I can't tell you exactly how to do it on your model, but basically, under the cover on the i-beam (which is the long bar that runs left to right that the lens assembly slides back and forth on, there is a strip of clear plastic that has very fine graduated lines on it. It's a long piece, as long as your i-beam. On the head that moves, there's a reader that reads those lines. That's how it knows when to fire.