PDA

View Full Version : Had a close call today....

Chuck Wintle
09-08-2007, 8:20 PM
Nicked the end of thumb pretty good on my table saw. It's funny because I am not a novice at using one either. All it took was to be distracted by other thoughts and "wham" into the saw blade went my thumb. On the lucky side it did not touch the bone. I learned a good lesson learned today: PAY ATTENTION at all times. :eek:

Stephen Beckham
09-08-2007, 9:20 PM
Charles glad you lost more pride than flesh... I clipped the end of my finger pad a couple months back doing the same old same old sharpening. Looked away and sliced away. I was sharpening Guillitiene blades for my partner. Never thought I could get such a clean cut. Of course - I never questioned why these blades slice through solid oak like butter... Now I shiver each time I touch one - still gives me goose bumps (done about 30-40 blades total - I'm back up to four since last slice - Osha is watching;) )

Point taken about being a novice versus rookie. We tend to relax more when we are "in-the-zone." Take care.

Bill Zollinger
09-09-2007, 11:33 PM
I'm glad you're alright. Does any one use a Sawstop saw?

Jared Cuneo
09-09-2007, 11:37 PM
Charles, glad to hear it wasn't too serious. Could you provide us with some details such as what operation you were performing, any safety equipment in use, and methods of prevention?

Thanks!!!

JC

Don Bullock
09-10-2007, 10:47 AM
Charles, I'm glad to hear that your cut was rater minor. That's one of my biggest "fears" working in the shop. I've made it a point to never use my power tools unless I'm well rested and have nothing else, but what I'm doing on my mind. It's far too easy to get distracted by other thoughts like you did. Thanks for safety the reminder.

... Does any one use a Sawstop saw?