PDA

View Full Version : Subpanel Wiring Questions

Jake Helmboldt
09-07-2007, 11:07 PM
I'm about to install a subpanel in the garage and had some questions (I realize some of this depends on local code, but in general):

1. In a garage (masonry w/ exposed walls, joists) does the wiring need to be in conduit, including that leading to the panel? If so, is PVC acceptable?
2. Is NM acceptable in conduit, or does it need to be outdoor cable?
3. If the sub has a 100A main breaker (to be used as the cutoff in the garage), can I use a 60A breaker in the main panel, thereby only needing to run 6/3 instead of the much more difficult run of 2/3, ande simply limiting my load center to the 60A?

thanks, Jake

Alan Tolchinsky
09-08-2007, 12:01 AM
Hi Jake,

I'll answer some of your questions. Note I am not an electrician but just did a subpanel and circuits in my garage and had it inspected.

You need conduit if you're doing it on the wall instead of inside the wall. Conduit protects the wiring and can act as a ground if it's EMT. EMT (electro metallic tubing) is what I used and is very cheap and easy to use.

No you shouldn't use regular wire (Romex) inside conduit. You need THHN wire inside conduit for heat issues concerning wire in conduit.

This type of installation is pretty straight forward and can be learned from books. Judging from your questions ( no offense here) you need to do more research on this and maybe think of letting a pro do it for you. If you have it inspected (highly recommended) ask your inspector how he wants it done. This will save you a lot of "redoing" of your work.

Good luck. Alan

paul wiser
09-08-2007, 12:02 AM