PDA

View Full Version : Sears Compucarve meets the need.

AL Ursich
09-02-2007, 9:38 AM
I have 2 Sears CompuCarve units making tourist products. The key is the artwork getting it right. Here is a great example of when it all came together for a very nice project within the limits of the Sears CompuCarve Machine. I have over 400 hours on this machine and with just a few problems has served me well.

This is from the Local Waymart, PA Gravity Railroad Depot Dedication I did last weekend. I made the Donation boards using the designer software to make the tracks in vector cut mode.

This is an example of taking line art drawing and making it 3D. I paid to have it done as I am still learning. I purchased 2 sets of Artwork converted to .ptn by HT at http://go3d.us/store/ (http://go3d.us/store/) .

I am VERY happy with the results. It takes a fine eye for detail to convert a lifeless line art drawing to a 3D .ptn file for the Sears CompuCarve machine. Over time I will developer the skills to do it myself.

Did I say..... I am VERY Happy with the results.

This is a Thank You plaque for Senator Lisa Baker for her part of the Depot Dedication, driving a gold spike in the new Railroad track. Not a sight you see every day. Excellent job !!!

The Depot line artwork in picture was the source of the final result. Excellent WORK HT !!!!

This .ptn will now become Life Member Plaques, Calenders, Clocks, Wooden Chests and more in my Pocono Digital Woodshop and sold in the Depot Store.

AL

Leigh Costello
09-02-2007, 10:44 AM
WOW!!! Al, that is impressive. How long did the cuts take for the picture and the member plaque? I have been considering one of these machines for awhile now. Hubby has been considering locking me up -"why do we need another machine?" - and banning me from the 'Creek. :p

AL Ursich
09-02-2007, 11:22 AM
Cut Time on Best Quality was 2 hours 10 min. On the other hand the Vector cut Rail Road Tracks on the Donor boards cut in 27 min.