PDA

View Full Version : Passing the Event Horizon

Fred Conte
08-31-2007, 10:00 PM
Hello to all,

I have been an amateur woodworker for many years but never did any turning other than being an armchair turner watching the various TV shows. Though I have read about it I wasn’t sure I wanted to get sucked into the “vortex” but after reading the new Wood magazine issue on getting started I searched the web and found you great folks!

I must say that it was the incredible enthusiasm, advice and helpfulness that this group demonstrated towards newbie’s such as myself that made the difference in my decision to dive in…it was contagious to say the least.:)

So I ordered the Rikon mini with the extension (I still like making furniture) for it’s features but because of the excellent customer service that I read on SMC. Additionally, I ordered the Wolverine jig and accessories, chisel set and the Barracuda 2, everything will arrive next week (forgot it was a holiday weekend:( )

My goal is to learn to turn bowls but after reading the many posts here and seeing the incredible craftsmanship that you folks demonstrated I want to learn even more. I didn’t realize all the different areas of turnings one could pursue and experiment with.:eek: :cool: My only fear is that my table saw, planer, jointer etc. don’t become shaving collectors!:D :D

One question: I have tried several times to download the Rikon manual but it always has errors and is incomplete, does anyone know where I could download a complete manual?

Thanks for your kind support and this awesome site to a new “vortexian”

Fred

Dennis Peacock
08-31-2007, 10:04 PM
Welcome to SMC Fred.!!!! Also wade on it to the "vortex" of the spinny world. :D

Before you know it, you'll be buying all kinds of gadgets, gizmos, and accessories to really outfit what you already have. Sure hope your pockets don't have holes in them. :rolleyes: :D

Fred Conte
08-31-2007, 10:12 PM
Thanks for the welcome Dennis!