PDA

View Full Version : could've been bad

doug young
08-28-2007, 12:16 AM
I'm a newbie which will be obvious soon but in case i save anyone from getting hurt in the future here goes. I was glueing up some hardwoods for a bowl to turn and there was a little varnish on one of the boards. I thought no problem It is so thin and clear it won't show. Glued the boards up in the clamps and started turning tonight. I was changing the belts to a higher rpm and turned the lathe on and walked away for just a second. BAM it exploded. I couldn't find one piece to the bowl. then i looked up. A hugely stupid mistake but God thought to watch out for me so i will repeat what i am sure 99.9% know. sand the wood so that the glue will really bond. When my heart slows down i will cautiously get back on the horse and ride into the vortex.

Larry Marley
08-28-2007, 1:21 AM
Wow Doug,
Thank God you were not in the line of fire.
Every glue joint must be perfect and cured. the correct glue is important as well. no CA for this, Titebond 2 is good. It is hard to tell from the pics but it looks like the bowl was glued in halves. Too much force from the tail stock on a weak glue joint can be bad news.
Thanks for sharing this, that is just amazing.

Larry

Ken Fitzgerald
08-28-2007, 1:31 AM
Doug...........Somebody was definitely looking out for you! Wow!

Jon Lanier
08-28-2007, 2:07 AM
All I could think of when I saw it. "Oh, dude!" :eek:

Sean Troy
08-28-2007, 7:55 AM
That would of hurt! Glad your ok.

Robert McGowen
08-28-2007, 9:09 AM
Kind of makes you step back and think for a second....... :rolleyes:

Christopher K. Hartley
08-28-2007, 9:34 AM
Doug, I'm just glad you are getting back on the horse and riding into the vortex. I could just as easily have been...riding into the sunset.:eek: Glad you're safe Buddy!!:)

Jeff Bower
08-28-2007, 9:39 AM