PDA

View Full Version : Greetings to all creekers

Sean De Gazon
08-24-2007, 4:30 PM
Greetings to all members of this most precious resource of information. My name is Sean and I am new member to the creek, I live in a little island in the Caribbean called Trinidad. I have been browsing and gathering research on the internet for a couple months now and have more or less made up my mind to purchase an Epilog mini 12x24 45w laser engraver. I think it is the ideal machine that will suit my needs for opening my own engraving business and I have been in contact with the distributor for my part of the world which is located in Puerto Rico. I have also been in touch with one of the Epilog sales Reps by the name of Jon Stone and he has so far been very helpful. I am currently working on financing this venture and hope to be able to purchase my system within about 6-8 weeks. I have a couple of questions. Firstly what would be the ideal exhaust system to use for this machine? I have a dedicated room in my home for this business and will be venting the fumes to the backyard. I don't have any neighbors behind my house so this can be taken into consideration. Secondly would you consider the compressor and the exhaust unit very noisy? I am a bit of a night owl and was wondering if I would be disturbing my wife if I so choose to work the graveyard shift. Finally I have been reading mixed reviews on the actual learning curve required for the settings for speed and power for these machines. Is it a difficult task in terms of wasting a lot of materials via trial and error or would it come naturally after a while, I read somewhere that it is highly advisable that one write down their speed and power settings in a notebook or folder when working.
Anyways thats about all for now thanks for any responses in advance.

Frank Corker
08-24-2007, 7:17 PM