PDA

View Full Version : Need a new drill press

Lori Kleinberg
08-21-2007, 5:00 PM
Well, the replacement chuck I had asked about previously didn't work out for my cheapy drill press :(,
so I guess I will have to buy a new one ;). Any suggestions? Do I need the 6" quill travel.
What about the 3/4 hp motor?
By the way I am a hobby woodworker whose weekend projects take from 3-6 months to complete :rolleyes:.

Don Bullock
08-21-2007, 5:22 PM
Lori, it looks like you've already done some investigating. If I had my choice I would go for the 6" quill travel. My bench top only has a 2-3/8" quill stroke and it's a real pain to use. I discovered when I was putting in some Miller dowels, for example, that the drill wouldn't go all the way in so I had to raise the table on each hole to finish drilling the holes. Not I've decided for that type of job I have to go back to using a hand drill. That's not nearly as accurate. Just think of the length of holes you might have to drill and you'll see that the 6" would be great to have. BTW -- I'm just a hobby woodworker too.

Matt Lentzner
08-21-2007, 5:42 PM
I've done a fair amount of research and asking around and have come to the following conclusion for floor model 3/4 hp DPs:

Best Overall: Steel City
Best Value: Delta 17-965

The SC is going to run you about $470 plus $100 shipping. The Delta is selling on Amazon right now for $285 plus $150 shipping, and I figure it is almost as good as the SC (quill travel is almost 5" vs. the SC's 6").

Hope that helps,

Matt

Dave Laird in NM
08-21-2007, 5:48 PM
If I were looking for a new drill press I would seriously look at the Steel City Tool Works.

6" quill stroke, 3/4hp motor, 120v/230v, 1ph, 16 speeds (215-2720 rpm), 12" x 12" table. Model 20520.

Also available is a laser for getting the drill bit centerec where you want the hole. Model 25415.

That's my opinion, and if you add $4.50 to it you can get a cup of coffee at Starbucks.

Lori Kleinberg
08-21-2007, 7:40 PM