PDA

View Full Version : Router Help

David Peno
08-18-2007, 2:55 PM
I am very new to woodworking and am having problems using my Bosch router. I went out and bought a set of templates to make an adorindak chair. I used whitewood ( since i'm new and wanted to learn on cheep wood) and I made a chair using a flush trim bit and clamping the wood to a table and handholding the router. I then decided to get a router table and now when I try and flush trim the pieces of wood the router takes out a big chunk of the wood if I go against the grain or runs up the wood very fast if I go the other way. I don't understand what I am doing wrong, does anyone know what my problem is?

Dave

Edit: Checked the manual and the wood runs when I pass it past the router in the proper direction, so..how do I stop it from running away from me?

David DeCristoforo
08-18-2007, 3:13 PM
What you describe is exactly what will happen if you try to "cut" stock with a router bit. You need to cut the pieces out first (with a jig saw for example) to within a 1/16" or so of the line and then flush trim to the template. That's why it's called a flush "trim" bit. BTW, this is a fairly ambitious undertaking for a first project.

Michael Schwartz
08-18-2007, 4:28 PM
Just rough it out first with a hand held circular saw and a jig saw, and take the final 1/16" of an inch or so off with the router.

Even if you were climb cutting it shouldn't grab it that much so it sounds like you are trying to take too much off.

Good luck with your first project.

David Peno
08-18-2007, 4:28 PM
I guess I need to cut them closer. I used a jigsaw to cut the pieces close but not that close. Thanks for the help, I will give it a try again tomorrow.

David DeCristoforo
08-18-2007, 4:44 PM