PDA

View Full Version : Clothes dryer drum not turning, need quik tips

Fred Miller
08-17-2007, 12:42 AM
OK, I am a darn good woodworker and furniture maker, but repairing a home appliance gives me immediate angst. :mad: In the case of my Whirlpool Dryer tonight in the middle of a medium sized load I checked the dryer to give the clothes a mid-run toss, and found the clothes weren't nearly half dry--really quite wet still. I removed the clothes, pressed the door switch and the motor began to run, but the drum wouldn't turn. I even dropped in some coins and closed the door properly, hit the switch, and only heard the sound of the motor--not the coins This indicates to me that the drive belt is broken or loose. SO, I'll be removing the back first thing in the morning to see what I have to work with.:confused:

I even checked the Whirlpool site and got the number for the most likely belt I'll need....drum roll here..........and now I need feedback and comments from The Creekers who have completed repairs of this type. All the tips about getting the old belt off and getting the new belt on and positioned and tensioned correctly. Yeah! That's what I need, before I open up the backside of this beast. I need the golden words of those who know.:)

Any helpful comments would be mighty appreciated!

Ken Fitzgerald
08-17-2007, 12:51 AM
Fred,

I've had to repair two of our former dryers. One time the belt had just come off. There was an idler pulley with a spring on it that was supposed to tension the drive belt. Apparently the spring just came of the idler pulley. I was able to put the belt back in it's proper place; reattach the spring to the idler pulley and away it went.

The other time the belt had broken and I had to replace it.

Good luck. I think you are on your way to finding the problem.

BTW...on mine I had to remove the front not the back IIRC.

Fred Miller
08-17-2007, 1:00 AM