PDA

View Full Version : HI and a little info on Norm

Ray Klear
08-15-2007, 9:31 PM
I thought I would make this my first post. I have been doing cabinet work for 45 years. Mostly alone so I'm not inclined to do much talking and mostly lurk here. Anyway I ran across this article on "Norm" and thought it might be of interest since it reveals (at least to me) a few things I did not know.

I hope this is legal :)

http://www.designnews.com/article/CA6465872.html?industryid=43654

"snip"

Norm is actually an engineer in carpenter’s clothing. He studied mechanical engineering in 1967 at the University of Massachusetts when the future was not bright for engineers. And he aspired to be an aeronautical engineer when NASA headlined the news with moon shots. True to form, Norm found the classroom wasn’t for him. After all, his genius is working with his hands.

Ken Gartin
08-15-2007, 9:38 PM
Good article. I love Norm. He's one of my favorites (if not the top favorite) in WWing!

I love his practicality and down to earth reproductions/designs. While I love to look at the finished results of some of David Marks stuff, it's just not my style. A little too fluffy...

Thanks for the link!

Don Bullock
08-15-2007, 9:59 PM
Thanks for the link. Like many, Norm is partly responsible fpr me wanting to get back into woodworking as a hobby. I especially like his practicle approach to woodworking projects and restoring houses as well.

Ken Fitzgerald
08-15-2007, 10:05 PM
Great article! I am a Norm fan.....He's genuine...talented...

Brad Townsend
08-15-2007, 10:13 PM
I enjoy Norm. This may sound like a slam, and is certainly not intended as such, but I think the thing I like most about him is for proving that, given the right circumstances, ANYONE can be a TV star.

Ken Fitzgerald
08-15-2007, 10:22 PM
Brad..........He certainly proves you don't need a pretty face to be a star!:D

glenn bradley
08-16-2007, 12:23 AM