PDA

View Full Version : Crazing question (Not CRAZY)

Larry Bratton
08-15-2007, 6:43 PM
I have just started doing some things with acrylic. Today, I had occasion to vector an arch on a piece of extruded. I sent the file over and my helper ran it. She brought it up to my office when it finished and was amazed at the little vein like fractures on one part of the cut. I explaned that was called crazing and was a kind of stress crack.
My question and her's is this..is their any way to prevent it? Does cast acrylic do this also? Any way to predict that you might get it on a particular type of cut etc. Do you leave the protective paper on or take it off? (the paper was off of this) Any info would be appreciated.

Joe Pelonio
08-15-2007, 6:58 PM
Ask your helper if she wiped it off with something.

I have been cutting cast and extruded every day for 3 years now and have never seen that except for when someone wiped the edges with a solvent.

If you vector a hunk and wipe it with denatured alcohol you can watch the cracks appear right before your eyes.

The heat from laser cutting (and also from flame polishing) will alter the acrylic at the molecular level and make it subject toi this problem. The answer is to clean with a non-solvent product, if needed, like windex or a citrus based product.

Oh, and some paints will do it too!

Larry Bratton
08-15-2007, 7:09 PM
Ask your helper if she wiped it off with something.

I have been cutting cast and extruded every day for 3 years now and have never seen that except for when someone wiped the edges with a solvent.

If you vector a hunk and wipe it with denatured alcohol you can watch the cracks appear right before your eyes.

The heat from laser cutting (and also from flame polishing) will alter the acrylic at the molecular level and make it subject toi this problem. The answer is to clean with a non-solvent product, if needed, like windex or a citrus based product.

Oh, and some paints will do it too!