PDA

View Full Version : Lathe Selection

Gene Jordan
08-13-2007, 9:00 PM
Hi Everyone,
I hope that I am posting this in the correct place on the forum.
I have just become a new member and am looking for a small lathe.I've seen a few mini lathes Rikon, Jet, and General International to date. The General 25-200 Maxi Variable Speed seems the most impressive to me. I'm not new to woodworking but I am new to turning. I've used the search function (possibly not correctly) but have not come to a conclusion as of yet. I suppose that everyone has a favorite brand, but as with any equipment there must be some brands or models to avoid.
Any help or opinions would certainly be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Gene

Keith Burns
08-13-2007, 9:15 PM
Welcome to the Creek Gene !! A great place with a lot of great people.

As far as which lathe to get you will get a lot of different opinions. The only thing I will say is to stay away from the "off brands" like Grizzly and Harbor Freight. The Jet I'm sure will be the most recommended but the others are good as well.

Now, go get one and start having some fun !

Jim Stoppleworth
08-13-2007, 9:25 PM
Gene,

Welcome to the forum!

What you will want in a lathe depends on what you think, at least initially, what you want to turn. 3 years ago I wanted to try turning. Didn't have a clue, as to what I wanted to turn, or if I would even like it. I was more looking for a hobby for retirement than anything else. I looked at the mini's but then made the decision to get a small larger lathe, the HF model 34706. It turns out I fell in love with turning. For 2 1/2 years the little HF did everything that was asked of it. In February of this year I upgraded to a Powermatic 3520B. The Mustard will most likely be my last lathe. The HF is now a permanent Beall buffing station and is used regualarly for that purpose. I do mostly bowls, pepper and saltmills, ornaments, and a variety of other things.

Jim

Gary Garmar
08-13-2007, 9:55 PM