PDA

View Full Version : rewire table saw

Jacob Bowman
08-11-2007, 12:56 PM
Hi everyone, I would like to know if there is any real benifit to rewire my table saw for 220. Any info is greatly appreciated.
Jake

Chuck Lenz
08-11-2007, 1:04 PM
I rewired my Delta 34-445 Contractors saw a few years ago to 220 after running it on 110 for about 8 years. I'd never go back to 110. I'm not going to say anymore and get into a big debate about the reasons. Try it, I bet you like it.

Steve Clardy
08-11-2007, 1:05 PM
Yes. Try it, you like it.

Jacob Bowman
08-11-2007, 3:12 PM
How exactly does one go about rewiring the motor and what type of switch to use, etc.

Curt Harms
08-11-2007, 3:18 PM
How exactly does one go about rewiring the motor and what type of switch to use, etc.
It should tell You how to do it. If You need a manual, You can download one from the B&D/Delta web site.

HTH

Curt

Bill Huber
08-11-2007, 3:37 PM
I am not an electrician but your motor has to be able to be wired 110/220. If the motor can not be wired 220 then you can't do it.

It should show on the motor the wiring for both 110 and 220, the switch will be the same and you would not have to change it.

The wiring should be on the motor plate or if not look under the wiring cover plate.

Chuck Lenz
08-11-2007, 3:40 PM
I think you better call a electrician, then he can also put the right plug end on the cord and install the correct dedicated circuit for you. xxxx Hire a electrician, it's code. It's what I did, and I'm glad I did too.

Jim Becker
08-11-2007, 3:59 PM
In general there is no real benefit from changing, but many folks feel more comfortable with tools wired for 240v. It uses the same amount of power and develops the same horsepower. That said, all the stationary tools I've owned that can be run on 240v have been setup that way. Personal preference.

Carl Crout
08-11-2007, 4:27 PM