PDA

View Full Version : Hardwood floor repair questions

Frank Martin
08-09-2007, 11:23 PM
I need to repair a part of our living room hardwood floor. There is an area with some water damage and I need to remove the existing boards and replace it with new ones. I have never done any flooring work before.

What is the best way to remove the damaged boards?

When I look into the existing floor boards I cannot see any filled nail holes. Are there different ways of fixing the boards so that there are no visible nail holes?

Thanks!

Greg Funk
08-10-2007, 1:07 AM
I need to repair a part of our living room hardwood floor. There is an area with some water damage and I need to remove the existing boards and replace it with new ones. I have never done any flooring work before.

What is the best way to remove the damaged boards?

When I look into the existing floor boards I cannot see any filled nail holes. Are there different ways of fixing the boards so that there are no visible nail holes?

Thanks!
You can make a few saw cuts (with an old blade) and chisel one of the middle boards. Once you get the first one out it is straightforward to pry the others out. When you replace the boards you should be able to edge nail all but the final row which you could either face nail and fill or if it was me I would just glue it in.

Greg

frank shic
08-10-2007, 9:53 AM
sounds like a good excuse to get a fein multimaster!

Sam Shank
08-10-2007, 9:57 AM
Yes, the first one is the hardest, and then they get easier. Make 2 cuts for the first one. You can use a spade bit at the end to get where the saw can't (do this first). Make your cuts with a slight taper, and they'll come out quicker. The boards are nailed at a 45' angle in the tongues.

Taper cuts will get the boards out easiest and fastest. Get a long old screwdriver for prying. Be delicate - old wood can chip easily (on the boards you want to keep!)

Good luck, Sam

Christof Grohs
08-10-2007, 10:24 AM