PDA

View Full Version : How do you convert this to a vector?

Carol VanArnam
08-05-2007, 6:10 PM
I'm trying to convert this bmp to a vector but can't figure out how. I tried corel x3 but couldn't get a smooth product. I'm new to the trace feature. Does anyone know a trick or way to do this? (Just call me a laser head...)

I was thinking maybe pay that guy that makes vector files the $12. I've seen him advertised on the creek as a way to do this.

Any ideas on how to convert this to a vector? I want to make a clock like this one as a gift for a friend..... I love the shape of this one....

Frank Corker
08-05-2007, 6:48 PM
You won't get a smooth product because the picture isn't up to it. Too low a resolution to get it.

Try this one and see if it is up to your requirements

Stephen Beckham
08-05-2007, 8:31 PM
Carol,

I gave it a shot at the outline, but I haven't upgraded my home computer to X3 so I'm pulling my hair out trying to do this in v12.

I can't open Frank's but I'm sure his will work for you as well.

OOOPS - when you open that - you'll have to change the lines back to hairline before they'll vector. I left them at 1pt so I could see them better.

Steve

Carol VanArnam
08-06-2007, 1:51 AM
Carol,

I gave it a shot at the outline, but I haven't upgraded my home computer to X3 so I'm pulling my hair out trying to do this in v12.

I can't open Frank's but I'm sure his will work for you as well.

OOOPS - when you open that - you'll have to change the lines back to hairline before they'll vector. I left them at 1pt so I could see them better.

Steve

Steve- how did you do that? How long did it take you to do it? I guess I look at what you did and think either you are way smarter than me (that could be true) or there is a trick I don't know about. That is exactly what I wanted. What can I do to learn the trick? I'm serious I had spent about 4 hours trying and believe me the way I was trying was not pretty.