PDA

View Full Version : Precision Straight Edge

Raymond Fries
08-04-2007, 8:52 PM
I want to buy a precision straight edge for aligning my router fence and for jointer when I get one. What is the best length to get?

12", 18", or 24"

Is longer better?

Thanks

Kendall Landry
08-04-2007, 9:20 PM
Get one as long as your fence. Preferably aluminium. No rust but don't bang it too hard.

Steven Wilson
08-04-2007, 9:25 PM
24" is nice to have around the shop but 48" or better for jointers and other long setups. LeeValley makes a pretty good one in aluminum

Gary Keedwell
08-04-2007, 9:45 PM
Yes, longer is better. I have a precision ground steel 4' Starrett straightedge. It is probably over-kill but I was a machinist in my former life.;) I have had it 5 years and no rust.

Gary K.

Don Inghram
08-04-2007, 9:49 PM
Just got the LV alum. straightedge. 53" I believe. Reasonably priced and nice quality as is all LV stuff. Although a shorter one may have been handier for some machinery stuff, I thought the long one would be handier in the long run for projects, etc. Nice to have a reference in the shop, I've been wanting one for a long time.

Bruce Page
08-04-2007, 10:00 PM
Another vote for the alum Lee Valley. I checked mine out against the table of my milling machine, as near as I could tell it was dead flat.

Gary Keedwell
08-04-2007, 10:07 PM
Another vote for the alum Lee Valley. I checked mine out against the table of my milling machine, as near as I could tell it was dead flat.
Which one was you using for reference? I think I'd trust a certified straight edge before a milling machine. But that is only me:rolleyes:

Gary K.

Tom Veatch
08-04-2007, 10:12 PM

Is longer better?

Not always, and price goes up exponentially with length. Anything over about 3 or 4 feet will cost a LOT more than the added benefit unless you have extraordinary requirements. I've yet to have a need for a PRECISION straight edge that my 3' Starrett can't handle.

Gary Keedwell
08-04-2007, 10:18 PM