PDA

View Full Version : Best video?

George Conklin
08-04-2007, 12:13 PM
Good morning Neanders,

What do you think are the best videos out there for teaching the use of hand tools, (planing).

One more question, how to you keep the rust off your planes?

Thanks.

Joe Meazle
08-04-2007, 3:11 PM
My favorites have been the Jim Kigshott videos. They are packed with info and may be a little overwelming for the complete newbie. They do bare rewatching from time to time.

Shawarz's Corse medium, & Fine is up there too.

The Frank Klausz "hand tools" is pretty basic and covers Planes Chisels and small saws. The Mario Rodrigez Hanplane Vid is pretty good but gets a little cheezey when the neighbor stops by.

I have not seen any of the Charelswoth stuff but I have heard good things. (any one want to make some trades?) I have seen some Cosman stff but not on planing.

Joe

Michael Schwartz
08-04-2007, 5:15 PM
You might want to do a Google Videos or Youtube search, I don't know what whats out there that people have posted and put out for free.

I know you are looking for videos but I would highly reccomend the Handplane Book by Garrett Hack, as well as Classic Handtools, his older book.

Terry Beadle
08-04-2007, 6:33 PM
I think David Charlesworth's first two CD videos are the best of the lot. The others are good too but they don't cover the technique that Charlesworth espouses and works wonders.

Kingshott is a giant. His videos are really good too and he does cover technique, plane selection, and the secondary planes.

If I only had a $50 dollar budget, I'd buy Charlesworth's first two videos as they cover the proper use and how to sharpen better than any of the others.

If you are into Japanease planes and irons, Harleson Stanley is about the only one out there but his videos are a bit pricecy.