PDA

View Full Version : shopsmith mark v

Eugene Malone
07-31-2007, 7:21 PM
Hi all, I'm pretty new at woodwork and havent got much space to work in and I've just came across this Shopsmith Mark V. I'm just a hobbiest with a hope to make something that Her Indoors and I can use about the place.
This looks to be the "Real Mcoy"the whole shebang rolled into one. Has anyone got anything to say about it, is there anyone out there using one for someone like me with little space and less experince would it be a good buy .Any info. or advice will gladly be accepted. Rgds. Boysie Slan Leat.

Bruce Shiverdecker
07-31-2007, 7:48 PM
Evening. I have had one. If you are very organized, it can do a very nice job and some swear by them. I swore AT mine and sold it to get a shop full of toys. As far as price is concerned, a used 500 should go for around 400.00, a 510 for around 5-600.00 and a 520 for about 800.00. I got a 510, DC, and a bunch of small attachments, plud 60 BD/FT Red Oak for 900.00 - KEPT the Oak!

Bruce

Steve Rowe
07-31-2007, 7:48 PM
I would look at this thread if considering a Shopsmith. http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=45486&highlight=shopsmith
With space limitations it may fit the bill but the machine does have its limitations. There are several different versions of the Mark V out there and the later ones have likely resolved some issues with the earlier models. Used is your best bet and they come on the market frequently.
Steve

Ron Jones near Indy
07-31-2007, 7:50 PM
Eugene,

I have a SS that I use for a drill press, disk sander and a little lathe work. It is a very good drill press and disk sander and a fair lathe for small work. The horizontal boring setup is OK too. Having said that, I feel the SS is a very poor table saw due to the tilting top and stationary arbor. A tilting arbor is much easier to use and will handle a wider range of cuts and stock.