PDA

View Full Version : Sending a friend across the Rainbow Bridge

Glenn Zamorski
07-29-2007, 9:24 PM
I'm a newbie here...joined last week while surfing for some new shop equipment. But that's not why I'm writing...

FYI - Unless you're a Dog\Pet person I'd skip this post...

After reading through some of the "Off Topic" posts its seems like their are some good pet/dog people on the list and as you folks can tell from the titile of this thread I'm getting ready to make a very difficult decision. So I thought I'd try to get a little insight.

My beloved 12 year old German Shepard is starting to fade. She's dragging her hind quarters around about 1/2 the time. She's having some "accidents" in the house. My wife and I know the inevitable is coming but we're having a REALLY HARD TIME making a decision. Our shepard's quality of life is important. I NEVER want to come home and find her lying in her own waste. But how do you know "its time"? How can I put a dog down that still responds to me in the way she always has?

Hope I didn't bum anyone out ... I know its a fact of life and we've got 2 other POOCHES (1 older than the Shepard)... but man this is tough...

glennz

Jim O'Dell
07-29-2007, 9:44 PM
Yes Glenn, and it never changes or gets easier. We have 2 littermates that turned 12 last month. Both still doing pretty good, but the boy, MY BOY is starting to show some signs of problems. We lost their mom at about 13 1/2.
We have always said that they tell us when it's time. As long as they are eating and seem to enjoy being around us and being loved on, we think it's not time yet.
With the hip problems that Shepherds and the Irish have, you might look for something that is affecting the signal from the nerves. She might not know she is having a bowel movement. Another cause along the same lines is to look for spondylosis (spelling?) in the spine...again could be putting pressure on a nerve.