PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly 555 vs. 555x

Ken Frohnert
07-28-2007, 8:11 AM
I am looking at bandsaws as my first large powertool and there has been a lot of discussion on the forum as of late. My budget is around $500 and I want to use the saw to cut curves but since I also have access to rough sawn lumber - oak, hickory, poplar, etc - I will probably use it for some resaw work. Since I have not purchased a TS yet this will also have to serve it that capacity as best can be for a short time. Hopefully within a year I will have decent 2-3hp TS.

I have tried to find a used BS locally and the good ones get snapped up so quick that I don't have time to even get a look at them. Since I am a novice maybe new is a safer bet anyway.

I think the two Grizzly saws above are about the right price an are good saws offering a lot of features for the $. I think I am gooding to end up buying new. I have read the reviews on Amazon and the 555 is got a ton of good reviews there is only one review for the 555x but it is also positive.

The 555x is about $170 more than the 555. However, it has the cast iron wheels (555 are aluminium), 1.5 hp motor, light, and larger table. I don't know if the fence is any different than on the 555. While $170 is not a huge amount of money it is money that could be directed toward a compressor. So I would like to find out what members experiences have been with these two saws and if the $170 is really a necessary upgrade. I think I already know the anwser but thought I would ask anyway:)

Ray Dockrey
07-28-2007, 8:24 AM