PDA

View Full Version : Help - Can't Tell The Difference Between Black Marble and Black Granite

Peter Zacarelli
07-27-2007, 10:39 PM
I ordered both black marble and black granite at the same time. I have never worked with either before. I am looking at the pieces that were sent and for the life of me I can't see any difference between any of them (16 pieces, suppose to be 8 of each) other then some are thicker then the others. Is there some way to detemind which is which. Sorry if I sound like a moron but I am serious.

Thanks for any help that may be provided.

Richard Savidge
07-27-2007, 10:55 PM
Black granite has noticeable silver flecks running through it black marble does not.

Carol VanArnam
07-28-2007, 1:48 AM
Peter- if you figure it out let me know. I always get confused myself......

Peter Zacarelli
07-28-2007, 2:24 AM
Thanks Richard, I do have some with silver flecks running through.
It seems kind of crazy, you would think you could tell the difference right away but just looking on them I couldn't except some do have the silver flecks. I was beginning to wonder if my order was correct or not.

Again, thanks.

Greg Funk
07-28-2007, 3:42 AM
You should be able to scratch the marble with a knife but not the granite. Also vinegar should fizz with the marble dust you scratch off with your knife.

Greg

Frank Corker
07-28-2007, 6:23 AM
Greg is right. Granite is the 3rd hardest natural material only next to diamonds and rubies it has an erosion factor of 1/16 inch for every 1000 years outside. Marble can't match it for strength and durability. That said, Rome seems to have an awful lot of old stuff that has survived for a long time :D

Mitchell Andrus
07-28-2007, 8:20 AM
EVERYONE knows......

Marble is metamophic rock and Granite is ignious rock.

Plus, Marble will dissolve in acid.

Larry Bratton
07-28-2007, 8:38 AM
That's easy for you to say :)

Mark Rios
07-28-2007, 11:37 AM
The black marble will be the round one.......................

Gary Hair