PDA

View Full Version : Would hanging lumber be a good storage solution?

Joseph Cardinal
07-26-2007, 2:24 PM
I have a stack of chestnut that has been air drying in my backyard now for a few years now.

Now that it is thoroughly dry, I'd like to bring it inside where I can easily access it.

Since I don't have the floor or wall space to properly stack the 12' boards, I was thinking of hanging them vertically in a stairwell. Perhaps by setting it up like a clothes closet with a horizontal metal pole and screwing large hooks into the end of the boards.

Another option would be to just stand them on edge vertically, but then they would probably develop a bow.

What do you guys think?

Cheers,
Joseph

Mick Zelaska
07-26-2007, 2:33 PM
I'm no wood expert, but I would think they would twist. I keep thinking of having to go through 10 twisted boards stored vertically to find 2 straight ones at HD.

Eddie Darby
07-26-2007, 3:47 PM
Another option would be to just stand them on edge vertically, but then they would probably develop a bow.

Standing *dry* wood on it's end will not cause it to bow. I say dry, because it is now stable, and should not move anymore if it has no heavy load on it.

If wood was subject to movement when on end, we would not be able to do much with it, our finished objects would warp all over the place.
They don't though.

Wood will, once dry, experience a form of movement called "Creep" which is due to the wood absorbing moisture while it is under a heavy working load. The wood under these wet conditions has a chance to shift it's chemical bonds a bit, and then when it dries, it will be in a somewhat different shape, though this is very small. Over many many many years this "Creep" will however take it's toll. Look at old barns to see the effect, usually the mantel over doors is a good place to look.