PDA

View Full Version : Amp Requirement Question

Don Bullock
07-25-2007, 1:23 PM
Hopefully this is a simple question that one of our electruical experts can easily answer.

I'm thinking of buying a 110 volt jointer rated at 13 amps maximum load. Will it run on my 15 amp circuit?

Also see new question in post #5

Randy Klein
07-25-2007, 1:28 PM
I'm going to guess that the startup amperage draw (usually more than the max load draw) will flip your breaker. Happened to me, so I upgraded to 20 Amp. Though I'm no expert.

Jason Beam
07-25-2007, 1:47 PM
Run? Probably. Start? Maybe not. You're right in the range of "maybe" there. The rule of thumb is never to exceed 80% load. 80% of 15a is 12a, so i'd probably consider either upping the circuit or switching to 220 if possible.

Consider that you're really going to want a dust collector or vacuum on that jointer to pick up the chips, for sure. In the scenario you have, at the LEAST it'd have to be be on a different circuit.

Geoff Grant
07-25-2007, 1:48 PM
Hi Don,

Well I'm not an electrical "expert" but I've done a bit of research for my own shop challenges. As long as the jointer is wired for 110/115/120 volts and not 220/230/240, you should be fine as long as you do not try to run anything else on that circuit concurrently (especially another high draw item like a vacuum, a dust collector or a ventilation fan). Also keep in mind that your 15 amp circuit may serve multiple outlets and lights - best to figure out which those are ahead of time. Electric Moters "pull" significantly higher amperage than the "running" max rating on "start-up" and therefore may trip the breaker on start-up if you have another load on the circuit. If you consider running new 110 circuits for the shop, I would use 12 gauge wire and a 20 amp breaker for maximum flexibility. If your circuit has a 15 amp breaker, it likely uses 14 gauge wiring. Do not "upgrade" it to a 20 amp breaker unless you are also upgrading the wiring to 12 gauge!