PDA

View Full Version : Hammer vs Minmax

kevin g farrell
07-24-2007, 7:16 PM
I am a new woodworker (and first time poster) and just starting to equip a new shop. I was initially inclined to purchase a cabinet saw such as the Sawstop until I started spending some time on this forum, which I have found to be very informative, and now I am now considering a sliding table saw. I was in LV last week at AWFS in part to take a look at the various sliding table saws and combination machines on display.

I spend a significant amount of time at Minmax, Felder, and Laguna and would like feedback from users of each on the aspects of each line that in their mind differentiate them from the others. I have reviewed many of the posts on the topic of EFSTS, but have not seen much discussion differentiating among the brands mentioned above, other than some comments regarding the Laguna Robland machines.

I am sepcificall interested in the the advantages/disadvantages of Hammer vs minimax.

Thanks for your assistance and I hope that I hqve not opened a can of worms.

Jay Brewer
07-24-2007, 8:44 PM
Hi Kevin, welcome to the forum, you will get alot of good advice here. At least you are skipping all the preliminary saws and going straight to the best. I have gone through to many saws to list from home made to cabinets saws, and finally to the saw that will buried with me when I die.
I went through the same decisions you are going through two years ago.
I chose Felder and am very happy with it. The new Technomax saw from Minimax was not available at the time I made my purchase, which would have made the decision alot harder. I love my Felder, but personally if it was between the Hammer and Minimax, I would choose the Minimax, it is a solid, no frills saw that will last a lifetime. just my opinion