PDA

View Full Version : First Hollow Form - Critique Requested

Shannon Grizzell
07-17-2007, 10:56 PM
This is my first attempt at a hollow form. I've been turning for a while, but am just getting confident enough to actually show some of my work.

The wood is mesquite. It's about 7.5" x 4". The finish is spray lacquer.

I was going for the classic greco-roman vessel shape. My original intention was to turn the sapwood completely away, but I decided I liked a small patch of sapwood on the one side.

While making this piece, I learned that hollowing was more difficult than I expected. :o

I want to learn and improve so all comments are appreciated. Thanks for looking!

Neal Addy
07-17-2007, 11:07 PM
Great first HF, Shannon. I like the neck and body shape. Not much to critique here.

What tool did you use for hollowing?

Mike A. Smith
07-17-2007, 11:37 PM
I think you nailed the form Shannon and good call on leaving the sapwood.

Patrick Taylor
07-17-2007, 11:38 PM
Great job! I like the sapwood... good design choice. I've not done HF's yet, but my perseonal preference would be for a smaller foot. Great finish, by the way. Great smooth curves too!

Mike Vickery
07-18-2007, 1:28 AM
Very nice, I find the form very pleasing.

Dennis Peacock
07-18-2007, 1:33 AM
Well Shannon,

I "tried" to find something I didn't like about it to critique, but just couldn't. :D

According to my eye, it's perfect in form and finish.

Brett Baldwin
07-18-2007, 2:30 AM
I'd say you've hit the ground running Shannon.

Harvey M. Taylor
07-18-2007, 3:11 AM
Beautiful. I think all mesquite turnings should have the identifying sapwood in it somewhere.Good lookin' piece.

Paul Heely
07-18-2007, 7:11 AM
Very nice Shannon. I like the form and the way you kept the sapwood. Nice job.

Steven Russell
07-18-2007, 7:52 AM
Hello,