PDA

View Full Version : Mock Ups

Matt Wolboldt
07-15-2007, 12:10 AM
Howdy Ya'll, I'm a newbie to this whole larger furniture scene. I was wondering how many of ya'll build mockups before you touch the final material. Thanks in advance.

brian j waloweek
07-15-2007, 12:18 AM
i dont usally make a mock up of the full size piece, just certain parts of the project, to see if it will function or have the look i am hoping for. i make it out of scrap wood or ply. what i do more is lay out the project on a piece of ply, front and side veiws, so i can get a size of parts and a sense of how tall,wide, and or what ever , my project will be. hope it helps and have fun.

Jamie Buxton
07-15-2007, 1:06 AM
I don't need mockups much except for seating furniture like chairs. I can develop most designs in my head and on paper (well, a computer now), go the shop, build it, and it comes out the way I intend. For chairs, I can't do that. I have to develop chair designs with a series of prototypes. I have to be able to sit in them.

Ed Jolin
07-15-2007, 1:21 AM
I am by no means an expert, but I've done it both ways. For me, paper/pencil usually works out pretty well for everyday construction, but I did do a full size mockup using particle board and drywall screws of a drysink I intended to build (never finished, long story), and was glad I did; it really showed some glaring errors in proportions that were less apparent on paper.

A guy I took some classes from had another interesting approach. He suggested doing full size mockups of all the joinery that would be required in a project, particularly for things like chairs, off angle, and visible joints. It helps to make sure the joint is really going to work with the tools you have, as well as any jigs you might want to make.

Jim Becker
07-15-2007, 3:20 AM