PDA

View Full Version : first project post - Library

Craig Thompson
07-12-2007, 6:46 PM
I have been parousing through the forum for a couple of months now... think its time to feed myself to the sharks...

I just finished this Library for kids homework area.. Its all mortise and tenon frames. I used scraps from other projects so I tried to use some nicely tigered sap wood for the frames of the larger doors... did not work out so well... they did not stain nicely. I will have to remake them later.

Bert Johansen
07-12-2007, 7:12 PM
Craig,

Wow! Nicely done! You may have been lurking just a short time, but you aren't new to woodworking, I'd surmise. That is one big job!

Yeah, the frames are a bit dark, but so what. After awhile you won't notice it.

One thing I noticed was the different treatment of the drawer fronts. The "frame" surrounding the lower file drawers isn't matched by the upper drawers. And I recognize the upper drawers are too small for such a large frame. I might have experimented with a treatment that could perhaps tie together all the drawers. Just my thoughts.

In any case, it is a major project and you should be proud of the work!

"Michael Hinkel"
07-12-2007, 7:17 PM
It looks pretty darn good, I had to go back and look at your pick, my eye saw the bottom drawers as pulling the pieces together. If that makes sense.

Bert Johansen
07-12-2007, 7:30 PM
Maybe something like this?

Don Bullock
07-12-2007, 8:07 PM
I have been parousing through the forum for a couple of months now... think its time to feed myself to the sharks...

Not with great work like that! Welcome to the "Creek." We need to hear more from you.:D

Anthony Anderson
07-12-2007, 9:49 PM