PDA

View Full Version : locking miter bit/joints

david bolf
01-17-2004, 5:46 PM
hi, i am a new member and novice woodworker. i am currenty converting attached garage into a shop and have bought some tools. i bought the new jet supersaw with 30" fence, made a table extension to hold my Jessem master lift with bosch 1617 router. i am planning to make a jewerly box and humidor. i purchased a freud locking miter bit. with some scrap 3/4" stock i have been practicing to get a tight fit on the joint. i have centered the height of the bit for the 3/4" stock and have moved the fence about 1/4" at a time. i also have feather boards holding the stock against the fence and the table top.

my problem is that the first pass rides against the fence fine after that the edge drifts across the fence and the result is a wavy cut. any advice on bit setup, technique, and # of passes required to accomplish this joint would be helpful. i have read that once you get the bit set you can pass both the vertical and horizontal cuts without making any adjustments. is this true?

thanks

Ted Shrader
01-17-2004, 6:15 PM
David -

First, welcome to the Creek. It is a friendly place to hang out and dangle your feet.

i have read that once you get the bit set you can pass both the vertical and horizontal cuts without making any adjustments. is this true? That is the way it is designed to work. After proper adjustment, your cuts will align perfectly.

Any advice on bit setup, technique, and # of passes required to accomplish this joint would be helpful.
I have cut a miter with the table saw to take off material up to where the tongue is. This still leaves a small flat edge to bear against the fence/table to guide your cut. (Sometimes I just run them through in a single pass.) The idea is to get the bit height and fence position just right so the cut is perfect. The angle of the tongue makes it so you can't "sneak" up on it.