PDA

View Full Version : Dustbin for a Cyclone

William Harrison
07-12-2007, 11:55 AM
Each month I get one step closer to by cyclone up a running. This month I need some suggestions for a dustbin collector. I would like a 30 gallon steel drum for a dustbin. I have found that Oneida-Air will sell a 50 gallon but that is a bit heavy for me. So how do I convert a 30 gallon drum to a dust bin? I need to cut a hole in the top of an open head drum and attach a flange. But I have never worked with metal before and need more specifics like the tools I would need to cut it and how to attach the flange so that it is air tight.

Any help would be much appreciated.

I am also curious if anyone knows, does the length of the hose connecting the cyclone to the dustbin affect the cyclone performance? I would like to put a 4 foot piece to connect the cyclone to the dustbin.

thanks

Bill

Mike Heidrick
07-12-2007, 12:06 PM
Ever think about using heavy walled plastic bins. I was just introduced to a world of free plastic drums at car wash places thanks to recommendations by members on woodnet. My first call landed me two 30 gallon and one 55 gallon drums. The tops are sealed and have two threaded holes in them. Holes can be cut into them with regualr tools. I used a variable speed Bosch Colt router set on 6 with a Holbren 1/4" straight cut bit to remove the top of the 55, then used a flush cut bottom bearing Bosch bit and smoothed the cut. I would see no reason you could not do the same with a smaller hole right in the top. I guarentee you are not going to compress these drums with any shop dust collection cyclone as the cyclones staic pressure is not high enough.

Also, recently HTC was selling drum dollies for $15 each in case you need some. That is very cheap. Shipping was $12 I believe but when I ordered them with the big planer's mobile base the shipping was still $12.

Matt Meiser
07-12-2007, 12:12 PM