PDA

View Full Version : Sushi Boxes & glue type help?

Jude Kingery
07-11-2007, 2:54 PM
Hello, thought someone might have some good advice. A friend wants me to make some sushi boxes, no problem, easy to do and glue up. I do a lot of glue-ups on lathe work, but my question has to do with what kind of glue do I use with wood that might become wet or have rice in it. I usually use Tite-bond with no problems, but I've not done food related items before and I'd think after repeated exposure to something wet it's a risk of the joints coming apart? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I figure people glue cutting boards together and those don't seem to come apart! Thank you in advance! Jude

nick brigg
07-11-2007, 3:18 PM
while i was in school, we made butter trays with splines, we used polyurethane glue, i made a cutting board using white glue(or PVA glue) and sure enough the laminations came apart. the poly is still together. now im no expert in what is food safe and what is not, im just citing from experience.

Jess Wetherhold
07-11-2007, 3:20 PM
I would stick with your Tite-bond II or III. Sushi is not wet so I don't there shouldn't be a problem. Tell your friend not to leave them in the sink or dishwash them. I assume that you are using food safe finish as well?

Jude Kingery
07-11-2007, 3:25 PM
Hey Nick & Jess,

Thank you for your responses, guys! Yep, Titebond'll work then? Sounds good. I was going to finish the inside just with mineral oil. Have read it's food safe and apparently no allergic reactions for people who might get into a spot of trouble with Walnut oil? Thanks again!

Jude

nick brigg
07-11-2007, 3:35 PM
yep mineral oil is the way to go, and i wouldnt use walnut for anything involving food.

Kyle Stiefel
07-11-2007, 3:39 PM