PDA

View Full Version : Any advice on turning a square platter?

Bill Wyko
07-10-2007, 3:52 PM
I've got a piece of splated, figured maple about 12x1-1/2 inches square and I just hate to cut the corners off. I'll have to turn my head stock sideways because it's bigger than the swing of my lathe and I've never done this before. I do have a tool rest extension to get around it. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Paul Engle
07-10-2007, 3:58 PM
Bill, just as usual but as slow as your lathe will turn. I do the bottom first( i use a screw chuck to hold ) put in recess or mortise , finish to 400 grt one coat of salad bowl finish, flip it over do the inside, finish to 400 polish with brown paper bag, then first coat of salad bowl finish. let cure about a week. jam chuck the inside resand the bottom , second coat , etc. I go 3 coats let set 2-3 weeks. I try to set my work like to back lite the corners , sharp tools light cuts is a must.

Bill Wyko
07-10-2007, 4:12 PM
Thanks Paul. I'm going to do a couple of solid pieces before I start my next segmented piece. This square one is probably first on the list. My slowest setting is 400 rpm, is that ok?

Bernie Weishapl
07-10-2007, 7:16 PM
It will work Bill. One thing I will warn you is keep your pinkies behind the tool rest. The corners are really hard on knuckles even for a split second. Just ask me.

Bill Wyko
07-10-2007, 7:52 PM
Thanks Bernie. It's Like a mean school teachers favorite ruler.:eek:

Bob Hamilton
07-10-2007, 7:54 PM