PDA

View Full Version : Look what I did this week!

D.McDonnel "Mac"
07-07-2007, 12:38 AM
Well I have needed to get ready for a class I'm teaching in August for the last month. Since my family left July 4 to go see family in Virginia what better use of my time than to get out to the shop and build the prototype and doccument it for my class handout. I'm actually making 3 as I want one built, one in parts to use as a show and tell example and one for a friend. I'll build up the show and tell unit duriing class. we only have 3 days to build this table but ............ well we'll see! I'll be the first to admit that I'm a very deliberate woodworker (slow) but I have found that doccumenting in pix and notes really doubles my construction time. I've also gotten so much more attuned to grain and color matching when laying out the parts on the rough lumber and that slows down layout but results in a much nicer product. Well here's what I've gotten done this week:

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c166/indymac24/Shaker%20Side%20Table/2TablesandParts.jpg

There are the two partially assembled tables into which I just fitted the drawer fronts before I quit for the night. That little pile of parts behind the two tables is the show and tell parts of the third table. The three table tops are glued up and stacked to the right awaiting sizing and sanding tomorrow. Then the pile of maple right under the table on the right is to be resawn tomorrow for the drawer boxes (6/4 is all I had in the attic stash). It is some gorgeous curly maple that I didn't realize was quite so curly when I began to saw it up. When I started jointing it the curl just about floored me! Excuse the yellow hue (incandescents) to the pic but look at that curl!

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c166/indymac24/Shaker%20Side%20Table/CurlyMaple.jpg