PDA

View Full Version : Help with Photos in Corel

Jim Watkins
07-05-2007, 5:34 PM
Good afternoon all,
I am just getting started and you all know how expensive these engravers are.

I have corel draw and want to get into photo engraving but need to make some denero before I can buy any software (Photograv) right now. Can only afford material for the time being.

Since Corel is all I have to work with, and I am sure I am not alone, can some of you good people provide some setting suggestions and advice on how to do photos (as good as you can) using only corel?

My target material is the annodized aluminum and wood (Alder, Maple, & Cherry).

Thanks all.

Joe Pelonio
07-05-2007, 5:47 PM
I've been at it 3 years now without Photograv, but I have not only Corel but also Photoshop and Freehand and was using them long before I bought a laser.

The main difference is that you cannot see a preview or simulation of what it will look like engraved as in Photograv.

The main thing is to start out with good resolution photos, and using Photopaint convert to B&W, then adjust the brightness and contrast as needed. It's impossible to tell you how to adjust them as it will be different
for every photo. There may be times when you are given a picture of a dark object in front of a dark building, so there is no real contrast. You may have to request a better photo or pass on the job until you learn enough to be able to remove the object and place it on a new background, which is difficult with Photopaint.

Jim Watkins
07-05-2007, 6:15 PM
Thanks for the reply Joe,