PDA

View Full Version : CNC Router

Leo Voisine
07-04-2007, 3:06 PM
Hi,

I am a new to this forum and would like to be involved - particularly in the CNC Router dialogs.

Seems that this thread is focused on Laser Engraving.

I have questions and CNC router - engraving - sign making - CNC code generation and such.

Is this the place, or is there a different place I shoud be?

Leo

Neal Schlee
07-04-2007, 3:25 PM
Leo,

Ask away, many of use use both cnc & laser.

Neal

Michael Kowalczyk
07-04-2007, 4:21 PM
I second that Neal!
Tell us what you have 1st for a CNC and all the software you use so that it makes it easier to help.
Thanks,

Kenneth Hertzog
07-04-2007, 4:33 PM
Hi Leo
You're at the right place. I think if it can't be had here you don't need it
ken

Leo Voisine
07-04-2007, 7:01 PM
OK -

I have been very fortunate to buy a used - but in brand new condition Larken 2424 Camtrol Router.

It uses a StarCam and StarCNC controller.

I am new to a CNC router, but NOT new to CNC machinery.

I can do some engraving using Corel Draw and a 1/32 ball end mill.

I want to make some signs - with graphics and raised letters. That means I need to cut away all the surrounding wood and leave just the letters and graphics.

The Larken will run on G-Code. Starcam can import HPGL, DXF, G-code and a couple of others.

I have been working with CNC machinery (metal cutting) for 20 years, so I am quite familiar with G-Code. I am also familiar with CAM.

I can write g-code, but the amout of code will be huge. Really too much to do manually.

First big question: I am trying to find out what most BEGINNERS on a very LOW budget use for g-code generating. MONEY, is my biggest issue.

The machine uses simple g-gode programming G00, G01, G02, G03. No tool change, no 4-th axis, no G40, G41, G42

Simple 2 axis code generation is OK for me to start, but I will get into 3 axis soon after.

I do have AutoCAD.

I hope to find something basic to start with.