PDA

View Full Version : Another table lamp of black palm and holly

John Huber
07-02-2007, 2:12 PM
A few weeks ago I posted a table lamp of black palm and holly. Here is the second one. The major change is that the holly is thinner. Finish is Watco Wipe-On Poly for less darkening of the woods.

These are my third and fourth turning projects; I'm a novice. So I would appreciate any comments or suggestions.

Harvey M. Taylor
07-02-2007, 2:42 PM
Novice huh? Yeah, right. Beautiful pieces, these and the previous post of yours. Sally forth into the vortex of segmentation and turning. I may catch up with you in a couple years, maybe. Max

James Stokes
07-02-2007, 3:39 PM
You did a great job, but for me I would like for the segments to line up.
I am an old tile setter and it bothers me when lines do not match.

John Huber
07-02-2007, 6:50 PM
James, thanks for your response. As a tile setter, maybe you can help me with my dilemma. The bottom part is 14 segments, the middle part is 10 segments, the top part is 6 segments. If I make all the seams line up, either the top segments are very narrow or the bottom segments are very large. What to do?

James Stokes
07-02-2007, 7:27 PM
Using differant amounts of segments it will not line up. But you can balance it in a couple ways. 1. If you just drop 1 segment each time you can have an even offset each time or 2. Use divisable offsets, For instance use 21 segments first ring 14 second ring 7 last ring.
Please do not missunderstand me I think they look great. I just think I would like it better if it balanced better.

Christopher Pine
07-02-2007, 7:58 PM
Looks great! Reminds me of "I dream of Jeannie" :)

Chris

Paul Heely
07-02-2007, 8:33 PM
Very nice looking. If these are your 3rd and 4th turnings I can't wait to see your 100th turning.

Bernie Weishapl
07-02-2007, 11:37 PM
John look great to me. I like the way the segments break up the pattern.

Ken Fitzgerald
07-02-2007, 11:58 PM