PDA

View Full Version : Shop Design Expertise

John McCall
06-30-2007, 9:51 PM
Every experienced wookworker has strong opinions about shop design to meet his/her woodworking needs. I understand there are unlimited variables that depend on space, equipment, work processes, etc. But, I am a novice woodworker and am faced with designing a shop from scratch (in the basement of a new home for which plans are now being drawn) and I do not have enough experience to ask all of the right questions, let along come up with the right answers in the design process. Thanks to SMC and other sources, I know the tools I intend to buy and the types of projects I intend to pursue. However, I do not know the ideal equipment layout and therefore optimal electrical design, have not figured out the best material for walls, do not know all of the issues to address with ventilation, etc., etc., etc. Are there experts out there who, for a fee, will review and comment on plans, offer advice on design features, help avoid mistakes with dust leakage into the HVAC system, etc? Ideally, I would like to find someone in the midwest/southeast with whom I could meet and go over all of the details. If you've had any experience with someone good or you know a name, I would be grateful for your advice.

David DeCristoforo
06-30-2007, 10:15 PM