PDA

View Full Version : Wood-dust allergies?

Rob Wilkins
06-30-2007, 5:09 AM
Just wondering about this - I've been working with ebony and bocote for a little while, but a few days ago when I was done playing, I suddenly developed the itchies from hell. I've had major itchy patches on my neck, back, and other places that I'm sure shouldn't have gotten itchy, and that I'll politely not mention by name. The day after it happened, my face became totally itchy and red, too - it looked like I'd been badly sunburnt.

It's never happened before, and I've ended up with a lot more dust than this on me. I still have the itchy patches, but not as badly as I did when it first happened...

Any experiences? Is this likely to be a one-off thing, or am I going to have to find a way to somehow work with wood while avoiding the dust?

Jude Kingery
06-30-2007, 6:32 AM
Hey Rob, sounds like an allergic reaction to the specific wood dust(s) to me. (no, I'm no doctor) I did have a very similar reaction to Cedar. I'd turned it a few times before, always wear a respirator when sanding, use an on-going runing filter and then dust collector, and I like the looks of Cedar and the lingering aroma in the shop even after running the DC and vacuum and filter and emptying/cleaning all.