PDA

View Full Version : OT-autocad

Chuck Wintle
06-26-2007, 10:17 PM
I need help if there are any autocad experts in the forum. I am just beginning to learn it and in drawing my building somehow the limits are negative at the bottom instead of being 0. is there someway to reset this reference so when I plot the drawing I see the entire thing? :confused:

Jeffrey Makiel
06-27-2007, 7:18 AM
Charles.
AutoCAD gives you several options to plot your model directly from "model space". Here they are:

Limits: This is determined when you first start a drawing using the Drawing Wizard. It asks you what the size is of your model will most likely be in full scale units. I never use this feature...and I never plot using 'limits'. However, folks like to use this when setting up an entire drawing layout (viewports, drawing sheet template, title bar, etc.) diirectly from Model Space instead of using Layout Space.

Extents: When choosing this option, it will plot everything you have drawn whether or not is is currently displayed on your viewscreen.

Window: This option allows you to choose exactly what you wish to plot. If plotting from Model Space (that is, you did not bother to create a drawing sheet in Layout Space), this is a nice feature to quickly plot your entire model, or part of your model.

Display: This option will plot only what you currently have on you display screen and ignore everything that is 'off' the screen and out of view.

Good Luck...Jeff

Chuck Wintle
06-27-2007, 8:17 AM
Jeff,
I think the "extents" command was what i was looking for. Thanks. :)

TYLER WOOD
06-27-2007, 10:03 AM
Charles,