PDA

View Full Version : Granite/Marble Display

Gregg Vaughn
06-25-2007, 2:51 PM
I'm still very new to laser engraving and have been experimenting mostly with marble and granite. Does anyone have ideas for displaying granite or marble "plaques" other than on a 3-point stand or hanging as a plaque? Is there a source for a frame that a standard 12x12 granite floor tile will fit in to? Has anyone tried drilling mounting holes through the material?

Craig Hogarth
06-25-2007, 6:02 PM
Lasersketch has two tile frames, one for 5x7 and one for 6x8. I bought some for the 6x8, but it leaves a 1/8 inch gap on the long side and a quarter on the short. I cut an acrylic "frame" to put around the tile before putting in the frame and it comes out nicely. Lasersketch also sells a drill bit (a little pricey) supposedly made for marble. I bought one, but it comes in two pieces and the second piece wasn't mailed till last Friday.

I also have some stuff on order from www.dye-sublimation-products.com. Look under tile accessories and tile frames.

It's not due to arrive until this Friday, but I think they'll work fine. I ordered frames for 6 inch squares, 12 inch squares, a 12x24 inch frame, easel backs (glue on picture frame stands) for various sizes and some sticky hangers that allow you hang them from a nail. I'll be playing with them this coming weekend hopefully and will let you know how it turns out.

Frank Corker
06-25-2007, 6:03 PM
Gregg if you search on easels you will have more success on your searches. As for drilling the granite, I had to drill 4 holes into a piece once and I remember thinking, "that's the last time I do that!" It seemed to take forever and the drill bits have to really be up to the challenge

Gregg Vaughn
06-26-2007, 7:46 AM
Thanks everyone ... I appreciate the information and ideas!

Greg

Belinda Barfield
06-26-2007, 8:05 AM
Has anyone tried drilling mounting holes through the material?