PDA

View Full Version : advice on the saw stop?

Jeffrey Larsen
06-25-2007, 1:05 AM
Hello--I am a surgeon and am often tired when I get around to working on wood at 2-3 am. for that reason, I found the sawstop to be very interesting indeed. Can't afford it for awhile, but have just about descided to wait and go that direction when I get the cash. I would be interested to know what words of wisdom everyone here has on the sawstop. Does it have any downside other than the obvious one, price? Does it have limitations compared to other tablesaws? thanks in advance, Jeff

Andrew Williams
06-25-2007, 1:45 AM
For me it was a no-brainer. Any tool that can actually tell the difference between wood and flesh is worth the extra money to me, even if I have to use credit to buy it. I haven't had it for a long time but have been very impressed with it as a machine, notwithstanding the safety feature. I have not used a PM 66 or top-of-the line Unisaw, but I assume it is at least on par with them, and maybe a bit better. There was a recent thread about undesirable heeling in PM2000 saws (I think it may only represent a single saw though). I have measured no more than .001 of heeling on the Sawstop and I think that is just fine. It has many more adjusting screws than the rest of the saws out there however. The trunnion and arbor assemblies are larger and seem to be a bit better designed as well.

I think the Canadian General saws' tables are flatter though, and I'd like to see a redesign of the zero-clearance insert to allow for better dust collection. The table surface is quite prone to scratching. The only "limitations" I am aware of are that you cannot use abrasive blades, or multiple 10" blades (for tenoning), or molding cutters. If for some reason you wanted to use a dado cutter wider than 13/16, it would not be safe to assume that the brake would stop it in time.

James Phillips
06-25-2007, 6:34 AM