PDA

View Full Version : Router Suggestions

Grady Cowardin
06-21-2007, 5:15 PM
Hello all, I'm new here and have already found a lot of good info and interesting projects. I did some searching but didn't really find what I was looking for. I'm relatively new to woodworking but have a good # of tools. My Ryobi 1 3/4 HP Router is fine for handheld apps but I am wanting to build a nice size table and purchase a router with 1/2" and 1/4" shank capacity. I would like to do some panel raising when I get better at things but am not sure if I really need a big hoss 3+ HP router.

I had my eye on the M12V2 but the price went up and it will need a 3/8" plate to keep things level. A buddy ordered me a slab of 1/2" alum which we will mill down to fit whatever table I come up with. I am mainly curious if all I really need is a 2 1/4 HP router. I like how some of the bigger routers can raise and lower a wide bit through their baseplate without interfering with anything. My price range is definitely under $200 with $150 shipped being ideal. I should have just snagged the Hitachi when it was on Amazon at that price instead of taking my chances on epay.

I know the preferred method for bit changing is being able to raise the chuck above the table and 2 wrench it loose. Does anyone know if the lock button can be accessed from above or just below the table opening? That would not be fun having to go under the table to release bits. Thanks for any info, I appreciate it!

pat warner
06-21-2007, 6:03 PM
Some notes on selecting routers. (http://patwarner.com/selecting_router.html)

Grady Cowardin
06-22-2007, 9:49 AM