PDA

View Full Version : Transpower Jointer?

Dan Bonbright
06-19-2007, 11:08 PM
I am new to woodworking as a whole and I have been slowly aquiring tools from classified ads, pawn shops, and craigslist. I live in Las Vegas and there is not alot of used equipment available here. I have been trying to get the best I can afford (which unfortunatly isn't alot) and I have gotten some good machines. I have found someone selling a Transpower 8" jointer that is about 10 years old. I have done some research and not found alot of information about transpower but I belive that it is rebadged Gee Tech I do not have a model number for this specific unit (I have not even seen it yet) but I belive it is CPT JT-980 that model is listed with a 2hp motor however the owner of the one I am looking at says his is 3hp. The current owner wants $400 for the unit with a mobile base, assuming the unit is in good condition is this a good deal?

Thanks,
Dan

Mike Heidrick
06-19-2007, 11:34 PM
Dan welcome to the site. Never in my ww research have I come across those names before. Good luck though to you. Not much can hurt a joinetr in good shape.

I would definately see if the motor is of quality (btw 3hp for an 8" jointer is HUGE!!) and that you can get blades if you ever need them. Post pictures when you can. $400 is a chunk for a non mainstream named jointer but figure the base is $50-$100 at least most likely.

Dan Bonbright
06-19-2007, 11:49 PM
Thanks for the reply Mike, anyone have suggestions on what I should look at when I inspect it?

Dan

Rich Engelhardt
06-20-2007, 6:13 AM
Hello Dan,

anyone have suggestions on what I should look at when I inspect it?

I'm a raw "newbie" myself. Fortunately, my friend and coworker Jim is an old hand at WW'ing. Last summer I was looking at a jointer at the local Sears that had been returned and was on sale for an extremely good price. I ran the idea past Jim to get his input.