PDA

View Full Version : I need help on a VFD and motor

rodney mitchell
06-16-2007, 6:43 PM
I have read post after post on the subject and am more confused than ever. I think I am electrically challenged. I need a variable speed set up on a Coote belt grinder and don't know what to get.
I do know I want a 1 1/2 to 2 HP motor which I hope to find used. (money is a big consideration in this project). But I don't know if I need a DC motor, a 3 phase motor, an inverter-duty motor; 3600 rmp, 1725 rpm, needless to say I am confused. Then on to the VFD, what kind to buy and where? Thanks for any help.

Rodney Mitchell

Kyle Kraft
06-16-2007, 7:01 PM
Rodney,

I am not a licensed electrician, but I have done multi-craft industrial maintenance for nearly two decades. I got a Bodine VFD at a trade show in Chicago a few years back as a sample. It is rated for a 2hp 3ph. AC motor, you wire it up to 230v single phase and it provides an output for a 3 phase motor. If you have experience with motor controls, start/stop circuits, and industrial wiring, you should be able to "read and do" with the instructions that come with your VFD.

You should be able to come by a 1.5-2hp 3ph AC motor without too much trouble as they are relatively inexpensive and there is really no market for used motors under 20 hp. It usually costs nearly as much for a new motor as to rebuild an old one.

Good luck!!

rodney mitchell
06-17-2007, 1:28 AM
Thanks Kyle, anyone have any sources for reasonably priced vfd's?

Mike Heidrick
06-17-2007, 1:52 AM
www.factorymation.com (http://www.factorymation.com) is the place I bought my FM50 for my 3hp 3ph motor on my DJ30 jointer. It is great. Very simple to use.

Ebay has them cheap as well.

Need to know the motor you get first and then get the VFD sized to match.

Richard Butler
06-17-2007, 1:56 AM
Rodney,