PDA

View Full Version : Need a little help

Bob Hallowell
06-15-2007, 12:12 AM
I guy showed up at my house tonight, introduced himself and said he heard I was a woodworker and I was his last hope ( I knew he was in trouble right then and there). He pulled out these doors and said they were off a cabinet that was his grandmothers. He wants to restore and refinish it but someone along time ago sawed off a peice of the door to make it fit under a sloped ceiling :eek:

He wanted me to make a peice to fix the door. Now I know with my tailed tools I could get the general shape of it but what scares me is the carving. I have never done any.

I told him I would post it here and see if anyone wanted the job that lived within 2 or so hours, and if not maybe you guys could give me some help on the carving bit and I would try the job in a month or so after I finish some other fires first.

I have no carving chisels but I do like to buy new tools. what chisels would I need? the thing that scares me most is it is oak And I figure it probaly ain't the easiest to carve.

If anyone else wants the job let me know if not please chime in with some help

thanks,
Bob

Mike Henderson
06-15-2007, 12:50 AM
The carving shouldn't be too tough, even in oak. Do a tracing of the whole piece and turn it over to transfer it to the other piece. The thing that makes it easy is that there are no sharp edges so you can sand it after you carve it. The very best would be to find someone who could help you with the carving if you've never done any. That person could also give you some advice on the tools to buy. Carving is one of those things where you never have all the tools you need.:)