PDA

View Full Version : Laser X-Ray film (no silver)

Bob Cole
06-12-2007, 2:10 AM
I first want to thank everyone for the contributions to the forum. It helped me decide to purchase a laser (should get it installed next week :) ).

Does anyone have any experience with a laser and xray film? I work for a Radiology company and have access to unlimited xray film. I have a few prospective clients who purchase stencils and found out that xray film works great for this. I haven't found any information on the web if you can safely laser the film without damaging optics or causing health problems.

I am very new to laser engraving so slap me around if I ask a stupid question.

Here is what I did find out.

The film is made out of polyethylene terephthalate (known as polyester). The only information I can find on the web is located here:
http://www.kodak.com/eknec/documents/af/0900688a800562af/J-700Eng.pdf
On page 5 it goes into Handling and storage and mentions "...burning conditions and are likely to include carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, aliphatic hydrocarbons, and aldehydes (acetaldehyde and butyraldehyde).
I called Kodak and got bounced around and no one could answer the question about laser cutting. The Kodak catalog number that I have access to is 872 3132 which is DVB (DryViewBlue) film. This would be after processed film that is being disposed of. Any patient information will be cut out.
I can get samples if needed.
I was bounced around Kodak.
http://www.kodak.com/go/kes
Catalog# 872 3132
Lot# 024491-202-c-003
DVB (DryView Blue)
800-677-9933 then
800328-2910 (tech support) then
800-698-3324 (operator) then
800-242-2424 (main operator) who transferred me somewhere that disconnected the call :)

This was an e-mail to the ULS rep who sold me the X-660 (45W). I haven't heard back from him.

Any information is appreciated.

Rodne Gold
06-12-2007, 2:42 AM